Bank holidays in Spain

Bank holidays Spain 2017 and 2018

Tourists in Portugal often take the advantage of the relative proximity to Spain to visit also Portugal’s only neighbour. It takes only a little over two hours to drive from Lisbon to Badajoz, the nearest larger Spanish city and around 6 hours by car to get to Madrid. For those who prefer to fly, have a variety of daily flights from Lisbon to Madrid and other major cities in Spain.

Before you head of to Spain, consult the calendar of public holidays in Spain, as they may affect opening hours of public institutions, retail and tourist attractions. On the other hand, the colourful celebration of some of the festive days may enhance your tourist experience in Spain.

Please remember that, whenever a public holiday falls on a Tuesday or Thursday, most Spanish will seek to extend their weekend. The so called puente (‘bridge’) meaning and extended weekend, whenever possible, is very popular in Spain.

There are 15 nationwide public holidays, common to all the 17 autonomous  communities of Spain (bank holidays Spain). See the list below:

2017 2018
1 January (Sunday) New Year 1 January (Monday)
6 January (Friday) Epiphany 6 January (Saturday)
19 March (Sunday) St. Joseph’s Day 19 March (Monday)
13 April (Thursday) Maundy Thursday 29 March (Thursday)
14 April (Friday) Good Friday 30 March (Friday)
16 April (Sunday) Easter 1 April (Sunday)
17 April (Monday) Easter Monday 2 April (Monday)
1 May (Monday) Labour Day 1 May (Tuesday)
15 June (Thursday) Corpus Christi 31 May (Thursday)
15 August (Tuesday) Assumption of Mary 15 August (Wednesday)
12 October (Thursday) Columbus Day / Fiesta Nacional de España 12 October (Friday)
1 November (Wednesday) All Saints’ Day 1 November (Thursday)
6 December (Wednesday) Constitution Day 6 December (Thursday)
8 December (Friday) Immaculate Conception 8 December (Saturday)
25 December (Monday) Christmas Day 25 December (Tuesday)


Local holidays Spain
Additionally, the following  regional holidays are celebrated in the Spanish provinces:

2017 2018
28 February (Tuesday) Regional holiday Andalusia 28 February (Wednesday)
1 March (Wednesday) Regional holiday Balearic Islands 1 March (Thursday)
23 April (Sunday) Regional holiday Castile and Léon 23 April (Monday)
23 April (Sunday) Regional holiday Aragon 23 April (Monday)
2 May (Tuesday) Regional holiday Madrid 2 May (Friday)
30 May (Tuesday) Regional holiday Canary Islands 30 May (Wednesday)
31 May (Wednesday) Regional holiday Castile-La Mancha 31 May (Thursday)
9 June (Friday) Regional holiday La Rioja 9 June (Saturday)
9 June (Friday) Regional holiday Murcia 9 June (Saturday)
25 July (Tuesday) Galician National Day 25 July (Wednesday)
2 September (Saturday) Regional holiday Ceuta 2 September (Sunday)
8 September (Friday) Regional holiday Extremadura 8 September (Saturday)
8 September (Friday) Regional holiday Asturias 8 September (Saturday)
11 September (Monday) Regional holiday Catalonia 11 September (Tuesday)
15 September (Friday) Regional holiday Cantabria 15 September (Saturday)
9 October (Monday) Regional holiday Valencia 9 October (Tuesday)
25 October (Wednesday) Regional holiday Basque Country 25 October (Thursday)

Please feel free to comment